Bridgewater College

Bridgewater College’s Bonnie Forrer and John Harvey Rhodes School of Arts and Humanities recognized 17 students for their outstanding achievements during the annual College Awards ceremony on April 20, 2024.

Department of Communication Studies and Theatre
Katerina Dronov received the Outstanding Senior Award in Communication, Technology and Culture for being the senior with the highest grade point average in the major.

Jon Northrop received the Outstanding Theatre Artist Award for exhibiting exceptional accomplishment in theatrical performance, production and scholarship.

Department of English
Emily Wylie received the Outstanding Senior in English Award for being the most outstanding graduating senior in English.

Katelin Carter received the Outstanding Senior in Professional Writing Award for being the most outstanding graduating senior in professional writing.

Department of History and Political Science
Katerina Dronov, Corey Keller and Katelyn Yoder received the Daniel W. Bly-Lamar B. Neal History and Political Science Outstanding Senior Award for each being an exceptional senior student in the history and political science department.

Katelin Carter received the Michael Robert (“M.R.”) Zigler Service Award in recognition of exceptional off-campus community service. The award is named for Michael R. Zigler, a BC alumnus in the class of 1916 and outstanding Church of the Brethren peace advocate, ecumenist and humanitarian.

Katerina Dronov and Zachary Watts received the Dr. Stephen Longenecker Award for Excellence in Historical Research and Writing for each producing an exceptional thesis in the senior seminar history class. The award is named in honor of Dr. Steve Longenecker, an accomplished historian who taught in the Department of History and Political Science for 32 years.

Department of Music
Grace Garner received the Nelson T. Huffman Award for Musical Excellence for exceptional musical and academic achievement. The award is given in honor of Dr. Nelson T. Huffman, a longtime music faculty member at Bridgewater and BC alumnus from the class of 1925.

Nathan Sullivan received the Future Music Educator Award for demonstrating academic and musical excellence and showing a strong commitment to music education.

Department of Philosophy and Religion
Nicholas Arnold received the Philosophy Award for being the graduating senior with the most extensive record of excellent academic work in philosophy courses.

Aly Heckeroth received the Religion Award for scholarly achievement as the graduating senior with the most extensive record of excellent academic work in biblical religion and theology courses.

Ryan Roeber Tenberg received the Dr. William E. Abshire Award for Scholarly Excellence in recognition of exemplary scholarship in philosophy or religion on a single manuscript or project completed during the 2023-2024 academic year. The award honors the intellect and abiding commitment to the liberal arts of Dr. William E. Abshire ’84, who taught in the Department of Philosophy and Religion for 37 years.

Department of Sociology
Grace Burdette received the C. Wright Mills Award for practicing “public sociology” and modeling the daily use of her sociological imagination beyond the classroom.

Grace Howell received the Zygmunt Bauman Scholar Award for demonstrating outstanding scholarship, leadership in the classroom and academic citizenship in the sociology department.

Department of World Languages and Cultures
Elena Larcombe, Aidan Keller and Mayra Mejia-Guardado received the Raymond N. and Virginia Andes Award. Larcombe’s award recognized her academic excellence in French studies, while Keller’s and Mejia-Guardado’s awards recognized their academic excellence in Spanish studies. These awards are given in honor of Dr. Raymond N. Andes ’40 and his wife Virginia Andes, both of whom taught languages at the College for many years.

Media Contact:
Eli Quay
Communications & Media Relations Specialist
(540) 828-5486